The Toltec Arts

Use anything in your day. Especially if it’s cheap and easy.

I lost my favorite writing pen today. This situation led to some introspection after I finally located said pen.

Turns out, I either like or spend a scary amount of time blaming and suspecting others for my own shortcomings.

(Note, the above might not even be true completely, but it’s useful as an  exercise. I might have the problem in some measure since I thought about it 3 times today. No matter – it’s still good.)

The mystery began when I looked for it. I last remember seeing my pen on my desk, where my computer is, but it was in my journal all along.

The joy comes in when I remember all the times today that I called, in my head, whoever took my pen – an asshole. Joy is realizing that you have unknowingly called yourself an asshole all day. Joy!

Comments on: "Self-Knowing: Quick & Dirty Joy Style" (21)

  1. I usually blame the cats. And I am usually correct in that blame. But once in awhile —yes—it is my own fault and then I feel like a fool. Glad you found your pen. I totally get the favorite part of that. The perfect pen, right?

    • Thank you Beth Ann. Cats are good scapegoats, but I don’t have any around. It’s just a cheapo pen, but it’s one of those rollerball pens and I’m not constantly having to deal with dried-up ink and don’t have to reprime it by scratching the bottom of the page. πŸ™‚

  2. I can totally relate to that terrible feeling of losing your favorite pen. I get it. It ranks right up there with losing your cell phone. Well, the phone is probably worse, actually… But, I am so happy for you that it was found. Love your writing πŸ™‚

  3. Since I’m single, I don’t have anyone to point a finger at, but usually have some foul language as I stomp around the house for hours trying to remember where I left an item.

    • πŸ™‚ It will always be in the last place you look – pilfering pixies are cruel that way. You’re fortunate to live alone. I’m single too, but had to go back because of illness in the family. At least the food’s better!

      Anyway, thank you for the follow, I really appreciate it. I don’t post a lot, so you won’t have much to keep up on, but I often go to other blogs and comment. Thanks again! πŸ™‚

  4. Self awareness is a beautiful thing.

  5. If a pen disappears, the cats get the blame here!

  6. I’ve done this more often than I can count.

  7. Quick, dirty and….sweet! I’ve been that a-hole many times, blaming whatever’s “missing” on someone else. It’s a great exercise you’ve shared, thank you.

  8. I’m very picky about pens.. if my gel pen goes missing, it makes me not so inclined to write.

  9. You have to laugh!

Don't be Shy - Leave a Reply

Southwest Jaguars

A voice for the jaguars of the Southwest United States

My Trephine

Locked Lips Also Sink Ships

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

The Office Inbetweener

SOME GUYS JUST AREN'T CUT OUT FOR A 9 TO 5...

Andre Veloz's Blog

This blog is about passion and Music

Corvidae in the Fields

The write-by-night express.

Toni Spearman/Author

Creating Words that Heal the Soul

Intuitive Living

A deep dive into the natural and supernatural world we live in

Cultural Life

Life, culture, travel, books, movies, linguistics...

All Things Beautiful...

Sharing the simplicity of beauty in art, fashion, travel, music, home decor, and promoting good health!

jbcamera

Just another WordPress.com site

All In One Jewellery Store

All in one jewellerystore always keep in mind to the customers view with the precious, original & ensuring superlative quality with the modern techniques.

Danny Breslin

How it is...

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

TheSunnySide

Free Horoscopes - Tarot - Fun!

The Kitchen's Garden

Sustainable. Self Sufficient. Loving the Land. Join Us!