The Toltec Arts

Night Sky

Itzpapalotl is in the sky.

I will use the Aztec name and not the Quiché term because of an urban fantasy novel I read years ago, by Laurell K. Hamilton. The tale was incredibly entertaining and featured a vampire who called herself Itzpapalotl. The vampire could temporarily grant the protagonist, Anita Blake, some ability or other. The important aspect was that the character’s eyes became like a starlit night. I appreciated the nod to the reality of Itzpapalotl. Since then, I have used the name assigned to her by the Aztec peoples and it rolls easily from the tongue.

Itzpapalotl is a constellation known to those who came from the tribes. She was the Obsidian Butterfly. As the myth tells, from her wings float the specks of her intention, which form the world. The principal stars are six in number, with the outflowing stars adding to it. Her wings have few visible stars, the dust motes that powdered her wings swirl in the heavens instead. The seer’s ability to comprehensively see her balanced manifestations determined his worth. His skill in holding her vision was said to be an astounding feat only capable of being performed by a true lord. For the seer must simultaneously experience all of her, he inside the bubble, knowing where her stars hung, even those beyond his feet and behind his head.

The first step, certainly, is to see Itzpapalotl. Apologies are necessary because I am unfamiliar with the constellations used by modern astronomers. I will be speaking to someone soon to determine any correlations. I reside in South Florida. Looking to the east, she crowns the sky above my head. If I remember correctly, on Saturday, May 5th, 2012, she was above at midnight.

As a sidenote, regarding May 5th, the moon was full on that Saturday. I would like to know if anyone chose to celebrate Beltane on that day because of the moon’s fullness. If you’d like to let me know, please do so.

Below her and to the left, there is a triangle of stars where the brightest star is on top. To the left and below of the triangle is the piercing shield. “The warrior holds the shield and the shield doubles as a weapon. Like any good shield should.”

The first step is the initial figure of Itzpapalotl. Then the student comes to incorporate her additional stars. This must be accomplished in a balanced manner. It is useless to only take her one way. Although that could be used for other purposes, I don’t wish to address it in this post.

The astronomer learned her placement, and that of all her stars. He attempts to see or recreate in his mind, those stars which are beyond his horizon. It is a complex feat. The base work is now done. From there, he leaves, for he is now at the center of his vision. It is a room of sorts.

What will be intriguing to those interested in divination is the original Itzpapalotl, whose wings are said to be like reflective obsidian. The diviner has a magic mirror in the sky. Whether that is her lesser or greater gift, one might ponder. One might also want to alternate between the right and left wings during gazes 😉

Comments on: "Night Sky" (19)

  1. Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clearness for your post is just great and i can assume you are a professional in this subject. Fine with your permission let me to seize your RSS feed to stay updated with approaching post. Thank you a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  2. Wow, I always learn the most interesting things when I visit your blog, George. This is nicely written and I’m also interested to know what this constellation is referred to today.

    • Thanks Jodi. I have plans to meet with an astronomer guy soon who will fill in the blanks for me. I’ve tried to figure it out from books. The problem is that they always show the constellations with the lines drawn in and it throws me off from recognizing it. In other words, I need a tutor.

      • Clergy bless abortuary as searcd ground Planned Parenthood rounded up a few priests of Moloch to bless an abortion clinic in Schenectady, New York.To commemorate Tuesday’s 35th anniversary of the Supreme Court ruling that affirmed a woman’s right to an abortion, clergy blessed this

      • Apparently the definition of “sacred ground” has taken a beating. Why you posted this is unclear.

      • Adorei o quadro de cores forte e que me rmeeteu a uma viagem pela cultura pernambucana onde o artedsta passa pelo carnaval, maracatfa, caboclo de lane7a e tudo mais .Parabens para esse artedsta. Ele e9 o de camisa preta.

      • Me perdoe, mas eu não entendas sua mensagem nada.

  3. nazarioartpainting said:

    Very intersting your post.

  4. Terrific. I love it when mysticism and reality meet. Do you meditate on the constellation? Or do you simply observe her in awe?

    • Both! My favorite exercise, though, is to let my eyes cross and wander around until comfortable, then I concentrate on a particular wing without staring. Sort of like when you stare straight forward and then place your focus on your peripheral areas. It’s a good way to separate sight from attention.

      • Hey, I do that too! I usually do it when I’m working out to try and get past my fatigue, or when I try and meditate. I gotta try it on a constellation that speaks to me, or a similar symbol.

      • See? Great minds and all that… I think that’s the best idea because then it eases into what symbols or whatnot are meaningful to you. Most people try to squeeze themselves into systems instead of being more flexible and making things their own, like they should. Not saying that the other way is worthless, just that it’ll hold more if it is personalized. You can even find the symbols in the stars sort of like how you find them in clouds. Let me know how it goes!!!

      • Religion is abstract- I never understood why anyone thought their method of worship was “right.”

  5. Adorei a imagem do boi, ficou linda e vejo Pernambuco assim notsedre e o colorido da alegria e fore7a de um povo sofrido. Parabe9ns, para a artista ela este1 vestida com um macace3o florido.Parabe9ns a todos os participantes.

  6. Your treasures will have quite an expireence tonight with the March 19th moon expireence predicted. Outer space is amazing. Enjoy your time with your friend, Jodi.

Don't be Shy - Leave a Reply

Southwest Jaguars

A voice for the jaguars of the Southwest United States

My Trephine

Locked Lips Also Sink Ships

Living to help other disabled people, and people in need, Change the sign!! And Earth

I been online since 1994. I seen the internet at its finest. Then the World joined and fucked it up

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

The Office Inbetweener

SOME GUYS JUST AREN'T CUT OUT FOR A 9 TO 5...

Andre Veloz's Blog

This blog is about passion and Music

Corvidae in the Fields

The write-by-night express.

Toni Spearman/Author

Creating Words that Heal the Soul

Articles, Advice and More

Astrology, Relationships and Anything Fun Under the Sun

Cultural Life

Life, culture, travel, books, movies, linguistics...

All Things Beautiful...

Sharing the simplicity of beauty in art, fashion, travel, music, home decor, and promoting good health!

jbcamera

Just another WordPress.com site

All In One Jewellery Store

All in one jewellerystore always keep in mind to the customers view with the precious, original & ensuring superlative quality with the modern techniques.

Danny Breslin

How it is...

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

Jellyfish

My Photo Collection

